Nomadic me

A great WordPress.com site

Gluten and Dairy free Vanilla Sponge

on January 7, 2013

So last night I decided a perfect end to a lovely restful weekend would be to bake a sponge. It’s also part of my natural health drive to reduce the amount of hidden fats and unwanted additives/ chemicals in my diet; the rule  is f I didn’t bake it I don’t eat it as far as cakes go. I felt like something sweet but wanted to avoid buying it from a bakery or supermarket..

So anyway; this is the recipe which makes one small-medium cake if you want to make a sponge sandwich cake obviously double the amounts and put into 2 separate tins.

1 cup of granulated sugar

1/2 cup of dairy free spread

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract

1 and 3/4 cups of All purpose gluten free flour

1 and a half teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon Xantham gum (this really helps to improve the consistency and reduce the crumbly texture which gluten free cakes can take!)

3/4 hemp milk (or rice milk)

 

Method:

1. Preheart the oven to 175 degrees celsius

2. Grease one small or medium rmound cake tin

3. Cream dairy free spread and sugar together for 10 minutes manually or 5 minutes with an electric mixer.

4. Add one egg at a time beating well into the  mixture until light and fluffy then add vanilla extract

5. Sift all the other ingredients into a seperate bowl (except the milk) and add half at a time beat a low speed until combined then mix half of the milk in.Repeat the same process for the other half of the dry ingredients and milk.

6. Bake for about 30-40 minutes and leave to cool before frosting.photo(1)

Yum!

Again it’s a very simple easy to follow recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I got a bit lazy with the measurements only because the recipe I was following were giving the amounts in cups whereas I had scales with no measuring cups. If you find yourself in this situation just google a cups to gram conversion table and chart; there are many of them out there. I was  being a bit hasty so I did a lot of gestimates and I can say that having the right amount of milk is particularly important in this recipe as I didn’t put enough milk in it was a bit dry. I think the milk would give it a nice moist texture! I also did it by hand but I think if you have an electric whisk it’s best to use that.

Leave a Reply

