Nomadic me

A great WordPress.com site

Gluten and Dairy Free Banana cake

on January 1, 2013

Happy New Year everyone!

I’ve spent today singing,cleaning, NOT making “new year’s resolutions”, reading, writing aaaand baking!

I found this recipe for banana cake online and it suited me perfectly as I am not on a strict gluten and dairy free diet but I do try to avoid it. This is the second time I’ve tried it and I have to say I think the first time it turned out better in terms of consistency. I tweaked the recipe slightly and put in less bananas; 4 instead of 6 and they were not as ripe as the ones I used the first time. So perhaps that is the reason for the difference.

It is a simple recipe and you will probably have most if not all the ingredients in your baking cupboard already. You will need;

250 grams gluten free flour

1 teaspsoon baking power

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons of maple syrup

120g dairy free sunflower spread or butter

100g demerara sugar

2 eggs lightly beaten

6 ripe bananas

Method:

Step 1-Preheat oven to 175 degrees celsius. Grease loaf tin.

Step 2-Mix  flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Stir in eggs, maple syrup and mashed bananas until well blended using an electric whisk, hand whisk or wooden spoon.Combine the  banana and  flour mixture ; mix until batter is just moist. Pour batter into preprepared tin.
Step3 3-Bake in preheated oven for  30 minutes, until a skewer inserted into centre of the loaf comes out clean and voila…
photo
Leave a Reply

